Exhibition

The FOTODOKS main exhibition Vis-à-Vis at the Lothringer13 Halle is on show from
October 16 until November 24, 2019.

Vis-à-vis

Lothringer13 Halle & Rroom

Since FOTODOKS 2017 with the guest country USA had a non-European focus, the seventh Munich edition of the FOTODOKS Festival concentrates on a close neighbour. In 2019, the Festival looks to France and with the theme Vis-à-vis opens the dialogue with the most long-standing and diverse culture in documentary photography.

France is Germany’s closest and most important partner in Europe. With almost no other country is there such a close collaboration and lively exchange in the area of culture and media. This solidarity combined with different impressions in dealing with socio-political situations promises to be an exciting encounter for the festival and the exhibition.

Vis-à-vis describes in its theme a seemingly simple and yet so complex situation in the encounter. This can be seen as a chance or as a burden, it can express rigid or flexible positions and perhaps can also be understood as a stimulus to devote oneself openly and responsibly to one’s counterpart.

„There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle, because we do not live single-issue lives“ writes the American author and activist Audre Lorde and describes the intellectual framework of this year’s festival edition. 

In our globalised, networked and thoroughly complex world, we are dealing with conflicts and struggles on differing levels which touch on our social interaction as well as our individual values and plans for life.

The curator team presents an exemplary and concentrated selection of photographic positions which sheds light on economic, social and socio-political power structures and questions supposed „truths“. The works of the 15 invited photographers from France and the D-A-CH region, research intrigues of major corporations and follow traces which depict postcolonial, imperialistic and capitalistic structures. They describe politics and tradition, social values and gender roles. The contemporary documentary photography, following its tradition, expresses the diversity in thought and actions as well as individual strategies of empowerment in Europe and far beyond. The works irritate our viewing habits and question how one could possibly see and understand things differently.

Exhibiting Photographers (x present during the festival):
Carolina Arantes (F/BR)
Mathieu Asselin (F) x
Daniel Chatard (D) x
Lisa Domin (D) x
David Fathi (F)
Samuel Gratacap (F) x
Sonja Hamad (D)
Stephanie Kiwitt (D)
Markus Krottendorfer (A) x
Nicola Lo Calzo (F/IT) x
Paula Markert (D) x
Laurence Rasti (CH) x
Gilles Raynaldy (F) x
Rebecca Sampson (D) x
Yana Wernicke (D)

Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung Vis-à-vis in der Lothringer13 Halle ist von 16. Oktober bis 24. November 2019 zu sehen.

Vis-à-vis

Lothringer13 Halle & Rroom

Nachdem FOTODOKS 2017 mit dem Gastland USA einen außereuropäischen Fokus hatte, konzentriert sich die siebte Münchner Ausgabe des FOTODOKS Festivals auf einen naheliegenden Nachbarn: 2019 blickt das Festival auf Frankreich und öffnet mit dem Thema Vis-à-vis den Dialog mit der traditionsreichsten und vielfältigsten Kultur der dokumentarischen Fotografie.

Frankreich ist Deutschlands engster und wichtigster Partner in Europa. Mit kaum einem anderen Land gibt es in den Bereichen Kultur und Medien eine so enge Zusammenarbeit und vergleichbar lebendigen Austausch. Diese Verbundenheit in Kombination mit dennoch unterschiedlichen Prägungen im Umgang mit gesellschaftspolitischen Situationen verspricht für Festival und Ausstellung eine spannende Begegnung.

Vis-à-vis beschreibt als Thema eine vermeintlich einfache und doch so komplexe Situation der Begegnung. Dies kann als Chance oder als Bürde wahrgenommen werden, kann starre oder veränderbare Positionen beschreiben und vielleicht auch als Anregung verstanden werden, sich seinem Gegenüber offen und verantwortungsvoll zu widmen. 

 „There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle, because we do not live single-issue lives“ schreibt die US-amerikanische Schriftstellerin und Aktivistin Audre Lorde und skizziert damit den gedanklichen Rahmen der diesjährigen Festivalausgabe. 

In unserer globalisierten, vernetzten und durchaus komplexen Welt haben wir es mit Auseinandersetzungen und Kämpfen auf den unterschiedlichsten Ebenen zu tun, die sowohl unser gesellschaftliches Miteinander, als auch unsere individuellen Wertevorstellungen und Lebensentwürfe berühren.

Das KuratorInnenteam präsentiert eine beispielhafte und konzentrierte Auswahl von fotografischen Positionen, die ökonomische, soziale wie gesellschaftspolitische Machtverhältnisse beleuchten und vermeintliche „Wahrheiten“ in Frage stellen. Die Arbeiten der 15 eingeladenen Fotograf*innen aus Frankreich und der D-A-CH Region, erforschen Machenschaften von Großkonzernen, verfolgen Spuren, die postkoloniale, imperialistische und kapitalistische Strukturen zeichnen - sie erzählen von Politik und Tradition, von gesellschaftlichen Werten und Geschlechterzuordnungen. Die zeitgenössische dokumentarische Autorenfotografie macht - ihrer Tradition folgend - die Vielfalt im Denken und Handeln sowie individuelle Strategien der Selbstermächtigung sichtbar - in und weit über Europa hinaus. Die Arbeiten irritieren unsere Sehgewohnheiten und hinterfragen, ob und wie man die Dinge nicht auch ganz anders wahrnehmen und verstehen könnte.

Ausstellende FotografInnen (x anwesend während des Festivals):
Carolina Arantes (F/BR)
Mathieu Asselin (F) x
Daniel Chatard (D) x
Lisa Domin (D) x
David Fathi (F)
Samuel Gratacap (F) x
Sonja Hamad (D)
Stephanie Kiwitt (D)
Markus Krottendorfer (A) x
Nicola Lo Calzo (F/IT) x
Paula Markert (D) x
Laurence Rasti (CH) x
Gilles Raynaldy (F) x
Rebecca Sampson (D) x
Yana Wernicke (D)