← Back to listing

Max Dax, Nicola Lo Calzo, Rebecca Sampson

Max Dax (curator, publicist and author, Berlin) in conversation with Nicola Lo Calzo and Rebecca Sampson
ENGLISH

Lothringer13 Halle

Max Dax (*1969) lives and works in Berlin. He was editor and chief editor of magazines like Alert Interviews, Spex or the Electronic Beats Magazine by Telekom. As an author he wrote books about Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, CAN and Scooter. In Berlin he curates the program of the Santa Lucia Galerie der Gespräche. For the Deichtorhallen he developed the exhibition concept for the exhibition HYPER! A JOURNEY INTO ART AND MUSIC, which he also curated.

Nicola Lo Calzo (*1979) currently lives and works between Paris, West Africa and the Caribbean. Coming from his experience as lgbti, his photographic practice and research are attentive to questions surrounding post-colonialism, intersectionality and minorities. Nicola Lo Calzo’s photographs show the ways in which minority groups interact with their environment, the ways in which they develop strategies of survival and resistance.

Rebecca Sampson (*1984) lives and works in Berlin. She studied photography at the Ostkreuzschule in Berlin (Prof. Ute Mahler). Her photographic work has tackled a wealth of socially and personally sensitive topics—from Berlin‘s African drug dealer community, through the treatment of eating disorders to the parallel lives and ambiguous sexual identities of Hong Kong’s Indonesian housemaids.

← Zurück zum Programm

Max Dax, Nicola Lo Calzo, Rebecca Sampson

Max Dax (Kurator, Herausgeber, und Autor, Berlin) spricht mit Nicola Lo Calzo und Rebecca Sampson
ENGLISCH

Lothringer13 Halle

Max Dax (*1969) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Er war Herausgeber bzw. Chefredakteur von Magazinen wie Alert Interviews, Spex oder dem Electronic Beats Magazine by Telekom. Als Autor schrieb er Bücher über Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, CAN und Scooter. In Berlin kuratiert er das Programm der Santa Lucia Galerie der Gespräche. Für die Deichtorhallen entwickelte er das Ausstellungskonzept für die Ausstellung HYPER! A JOURNEY INTO ART AND MUSIC, die er zugleich auch kuratiert.

Nicola Lo Calzo (*1979) lebt und arbeitet derzeit zwischen Paris, Westafrika und der Karibik. Ausgehend von seiner Erfahrung als LGBTI widmet sich seine fotografische Praxis und Forschung rund um die Themen Postkolonialismus, Intersektionalität und Minderheiten. Nicola Lo Calzos Fotografien zeigen, wie Minderheiten mit ihrer Umwelt interagieren, wie sie Überlebens- und Widerstandsstrategien entwickeln.

Rebecca Sampson (*1984) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie studierte Fotografie bei Prof. Ute Mahler an der Ostkreuzschule in Berlin. In ihren fotografischen Arbeiten beschäftigt sie sich mit gesellschaftsrelevanten Themen – von der afrikanischen Drogendealer-Community in Berlin über Essstörungen, bis hin zu der Parallelwelt und die mehrdeutigen sexuellen Identitäten von indonesischen Hausmädchen in Hongkong.