← Back to listing

Lisa Domin & Christina Maria Ruederer

Film Screening, followed by Lisa Domin in conversation with Christina Maria Ruederer (Associate Curator, Kunstverein München)
GERMAN

Lothringer13 Halle

The video “Faxen” (1-canal video, 9:11 min, 2018) follows a special form of communication, named faxen. The prison in Gelsenkirchen (Germany) has an unusual architecture: men and women sections lay vis-à-vis - only divided by a sports field. Conversations by "faxing" can be hold with letters written with light or hand in the air. Mostly to foreign dialog partners who never see each other face to face.

Both works, the video work “Faxen” and the three-part photo series "Twin Towers," which can be seen in the exhibition, deal with situations, in which understanding through words appears impossible due to social circumstances. The illustrated encounters require alternative and tedious forms of communication resulting from their immediate situation and therefore demonstrate the mutual need for interpersonal exchange.

In a subsequent discussion, the artist Lisa Domin and Christina Maria Ruederer will focus on these two works and give a deeper insight into Domin's artistic practice.

Lisa Domin (*1983) studied fine arts with a focus on film and photography in Braunschweig and Budapest. She uses video, photography, performative elements and language to negotiate various forms of instrumentalization and fictionality of biographical stories and public historiography. Since 2017 she studies / is involved in postgraduate studies of media arts at the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne.

Christina Maria Ruederer is part of the curatorial team at Kunstverein München, where she curates exhibitions and discursive formats. Ruederer studied art history, philosophy, and literature and has contributed to publications, magazines and exhibition catalogues.

← Zurück zum Programm

Lisa Domin & Christina Maria Ruederer

Film screening, folgend Lisa Domin im Gespräch mit Christina Maria Ruederer
(Assoziierte Kuratorin, Kunstverein München)
DEUTSCH

Lothringer13 Halle

Das Video „Faxen" (1-Kanal-Video, 9:11 min, 2018) folgt einer speziellen Form der Kommunikation. Die JVA in Gelsenkirchen ist ein Gefängnis-Neubau mit der architektonischen Besonderheit, dass sich die Frauen- und die Männerabteilung genau gegenüberliegen und nur durch ein großes Sportfeld voneinander getrennt sind. Lisa Domin interessiert sich für die besondere Form der Kommunikation, die sich unter den InsassInnen entwickelt hat: das so genannte Faxen.

Beide Arbeiten, die Videoarbeit „Faxen" und die dreiteilige Fotoserie „Twin Towers", die in der Ausstellung zu sehen ist, beschäftigen sich mit Situationen, in denen das Verstehen durch Worte aufgrund sozialer Umstände unmöglich erscheint (ist?). Die veranschaulichten Begegnungen erfordern aus ihrer unmittelbaren Situation heraus alternative und mühsame Kommunikationsformen. Sie zeigen damit das gegenseitige Bedürfnis nach zwischenmenschlichem Austausch.

In einem anschließenden Gespräch werden sich die Künstlerinnen Lisa Domin und Christina Maria Ruederer auf diese beiden Arbeiten konzentrieren und einen tieferen Einblick in Domins künstlerische Praxis geben.

Lisa Domin (*1983) studierte Freie Kunst mit dem Schwerpunkt Film und Fotografie in Braunschweig und Budapest. Sie verhandelt mit Video, Fotografie, performativen Elementen und Sprache unterschiedliche Formen von Instrumentalisierung und Fiktionalität biografischer Geschichten und öffentlicher Geschichtsschreibung. Seit 2017 ist sie für ein postgraduales Studium der Medialen Künste an der Kunsthochschule für Medien, Köln.

Christina Maria Ruederer ist Teil des kuratorischen Teams im Kunstverein München, wo sie Ausstellungen und diskursive Formate kuratiert. Ruederer studierte Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie und Literatur und hat an Publikationen, Zeitschriften und Ausstellungskatalogen mitgewirkt.