Exhibitions

The Fotodoks main exhibition Past is Now at Münchner Stadtmuseum is on show until January 10 2016. Parallel three additional exhibitions completed this year's Fotodoks program in Munich, part of which will also be on show beyond the festival.

Past is Now

Münchner Stadtmuseum

In today, a little bit of yesterday remains - as an ideal or formative influence, as a vague memory, a repetition or redefinition of something that has already been there before.
In dialogue with the partner region Ex-Yugoslavia (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia) Fotodoks explores both the current state and the potential of yesterday in today. The documentary positions of the exhibition find various ways to explore the theme the Past is Now: They work with existing archives or create new ones; they go on a search for historical traces and reflect upon cultural stereotypes and musical myths; they look back on 25 years of German reunification and the 20 years since the Dayton-Peace-Agreement, which ended the war in Bosnia and Herzegovina. They question the very concept of Europe. And, as always with Fotodoks, the works reconsider the role of documentary photography and the media - and are not afraid to extend their reach into areas such as video and painting, or to examine contemporary trends like the use of the term 'post-documentary.'

Additional exhibitions

  • Marienhof — October 14 - November 01

    1%: Privilege in a Time of Global Inequality

    The show, curated by Myles Little (picture editor TIME, New York) is a response to the exploding gap between poverty and wealth in the world. The growing contradictions are visualized by contemporary documentary photographs of famous photographers. The images - which are reminiscent of private collections of art patrons - allow a variety of approaches to the subject. They stimulate to debate on one phenomenon: the richest one percent of the world population owns almost half of the total assets.

    Exhibiting photographers

    Andrew Moore, Anna Skladmann, Ben Quinton, Christopher Anderson, Daniel Shea, David Chancellor, David Leventi, Eirini Vourloumis, Gabriele Galimberti, Paolo Woods, Greg Girard, Guillaume Bonn, Guillaume Herbaut, Jesse Chehak, Jörg Brüggemann, Juliana Sohn, Kevin Cooley, Michael Light, Mike Osborne, Nina Berman, Peter Bialobrzeski, Shane Lavalette, Zed Nelson

  • Lothringer13 Halle — September 25 - December 13

    Fiery Greetings

    The exhibition Fiery Greetings depicts a new image of socialist Yugoslavia, in which childhood and growing-up is in the foreground. The starting point of the project are numerous photoalbums which President Tito recieved from Yugoslavian schools and children’s organisations from 1945 until his death in 1980. In a complex way it becomes evident, how the people presented themselves to their President and how the fundamental principles of the Federation of Yugoslavia was utilized in the daily life of the socialist hope, its youth.

    Participating artists

    Ana Adamović, Dejan Kaludjerović, Dubravka Ugrešić, Dušica Dražić, Irena Lagator, Mladen Miljanović, Renata Poljak, Saša Karalić, ŠKART Art Group

    Zur Webseite

  • IFOG Akademie für Design und Kommunikation — October 14 - October 18

    Paul Lowe: The Siege of Sarajevo

    The Siege of Sarajevo was the longest siege of a capital city in the history of modern warfare. During the four-year siege (1992-1996) over 10,000 people were killed and 60,000 injured. Paul Lowe had first arrived in Sarajevo in May 1992, and his first stories concentrated on how the citizens were adapting to life under constant shelling and sniping. By the end of 1994 he began to document another facet of life under siege: With a large format panoramic camera he explored the various ways in which the streets had been fragmented by artillery shells, mortars, rockets and bullets, and the extraordinary variety of defenses that its citizens had improvised from concrete, shipping containers and vehicles to defend themselves from the fire.

Ausstellungen

Die Fotodoks-Hauptausstellung Past is Now im Münchner Stadtmuseum ist noch bis zum 10. Januar 2016 zu sehen. Parallel ergänzten in diesem Jahr drei weitere Ausstellungen in München das Fotodoks-Programm, die zum Teil ebenfalls noch über das Festival hinaus zu sehen sind.

Past is Now

Münchner Stadtmuseum

In jedem Heute bleibt das Gestern spürbar – als Vorbild oder prägender Einfluss, als verschwommene Erinnerung, Wiederholung oder Neudefinition von bereits Dagewesenem.
Gemeinsam mit der Partnerregion Ex-Jugoslawien beleuchtet Fotodoks den Status Quo und das Potential des Gestern im Heute. Die dokumentarischen Positionen der Ausstellung setzen sich in vielfältiger Weise mit dem Thema Past is Now auseinander: Sie arbeiten mit bestehenden Archiven oder lassen neue entstehen; sie gehen auf historische Spurensuche und reflektieren kulturelle Stereotype und musikalische Mythen; sie blicken zurück auf 25 Jahre deutsche Wiedervereinigung sowie auf 20 Jahre Dayton-Friedensabkommen, das den Krieg in Bosnien und Herzegowina beendete. Sie hinterfragen das Versprechen von Europa und, wie immer bei Fotodoks, setzen sich die Arbeiten auch mit der Rolle der Dokumentarfotografie und den Medien auseinander – und scheuen sich dabei nicht, die dokumentarischen Fühler auch in die Bereiche Video und Malerei auszustrecken und aktuelle Tendenzen wie den Begriff 'post-documentary' zur Diskussion zu stellen.

Weitere Ausstellungen

  • Marienhof — 14. Oktober bis 01. November

    1%: Privilege in a Time of Global Inequality

    Die von Myles Little (Bildredakteur TIME, New York) kuratierte Schau ist eine Reaktion auf die explodierende Kluft zwischen Armut und Reichtum in der ganzen Welt. Mit zeitgenössischen Dokumentarfotografien zahlreicher bekannter Fotografen werden die wachsenden Gegensätze sichtbar gemacht. Die Bilder – die an Privatsammlungen reicher Kunstmäzene erinnern und vielfältige Zugänge zu dem Thema ermöglichen – regen zu Debatten über das Phänomen an: Mittlerweile besitzt das reichste Prozent der Weltbevölkerung knapp die Hälfte des gesamten Vermögens.

    Ausstellende FotografInnen

    Andrew Moore, Anna Skladmann, Ben Quinton, Christopher Anderson, Daniel Shea, David Chancellor, David Leventi, Eirini Vourloumis, Gabriele Galimberti, Paolo Woods, Greg Girard, Guillaume Bonn, Guillaume Herbaut, Jesse Chehak, Jörg Brüggemann, Juliana Sohn, Kevin Cooley, Michael Light, Mike Osborne, Nina Berman, Peter Bialobrzeski, Shane Lavalette, Zed Nelson

  • Lothringer13 Halle — 25. September bis 13. Dezember

    Fiery Greetings

    Die Ausstellung Fiery Greetings zeichnet ein neues Bild des sozialistischen Jugoslawiens, in dem die Kindheit und das Aufwachsen im Vordergrund stehen. Der Ausgangspunkt des Projekts sind zahlreiche Fotoalben, die Präsident Tito von jugoslawischen Schulen und Kinderorganisationen ab 1945 bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1980 in Empfang nahm. In vielschichtiger Weise wird sichtbar, wie die Bevölkerung sich ihrem Präsidenten darbot und die Gründungsprinzipien des Föderativen Jugoslawien im täglichen Leben der sozialistischen Hoffnungsträger, der Jugend, umgesetzt wurden.

    Teilnehmende Künstlerinnen und Künstler

    Ana Adamović, Dejan Kaludjerović, Dubravka Ugrešić, Dušica Dražić, Irena Lagator, Mladen Miljanović, Renata Poljak, Saša Karalić, ŠKART Art Group

    Zur Webseite

  • IFOG Akademie für Design und Kommunikation — 14. Oktober bis 18. Oktober

    Paul Lowe: The Siege of Sarajevo

    Die Belagerung von Sarajevo war die längste Blockade einer Hauptstadt in der Geschichte der modernen Kriegsführung. Während der vierjährigen Belagerung (1992-1996) wurden über 10.000 Menschen getötet und 60.000 verletzt. Paul Lowe war im Mai 1992 erstmals in Sarajevo und konzentrierte sich in seinen ersten Fotoreportagen darauf, wie sich die Bevölkerung an das Leben mit Heckenschützen und ständigem Beschuss anpasste. Ende des Jahres 1994 begann Paul Lowe eine andere Facette des Lebens im Belagerungszustand aufzuzeichnen: Mit einer großformatigen Panorama-Kamera erkundete er die Zerstörung der Straßen durch Artilleriegeschosse, Mörser und Granaten sowie die vielfältigen improvisierten Konstruktionen, die sich die Bürger aus Beton, Containern und Fahrzeugen zur Verteidigung gebaut hatten.