Exhibitions

The Fotodoks main exhibition ME:WE at the Lothringer13 Halle is on show from October 12 until November 26, 2017. An additional exhibition at the Amerikahaus completes this year's Fotodoks program in Munich.

ME:WE

Lothringer13 Halle & Rroom

The connection between the individual, the “Me“ and the collective, the „We" describes a dynamic movement in both directions. A balance arises when both have enough space to unfold. Together with the partner country USA, Fotodoks focuses on this tension on a personal, political and media level. Photographical positions tell of personal contacts, between the photographer and the intimate or unfamiliar portrayed, as well as amongst strangers. Projects document that even communities that are linked to each other due to negative signs can be hopeful. Political commitment is shown by unconventional perspectives. There are no limits to the forms of representation of the documentary; they are poetic, artistic, scenic and the transitions are fluid, in motion.

Additional exhibitions

  • Amerikahaus — October 13 - December 22

    unitedstates pt.2 – Mark Steinmetz

    In his home country USA, Mark Steinmetz's work is represented in all the important collections of contemporary photography. In Europe, his works are known almost exclusively to specialists. With this first comprehensive exhibition in Germany, the Amerikahaus presents this fine-minded and loving photographer with a selection of his works from over three decades and gives insight into all 12 monographs published so far.

    Mark Steinmetz fascinates as an attentive chronicler who, with his pictures in unobtrusive narratives, describes the leisurely, American everyday life. He shares with us American encounters, which are characterized by curiosity, respect and restraint and bear witness to human attachment. This is reason enough to lose oneself in these photographs.

Ausstellungen

Die Fotodoks-Hauptausstellung ME:WE in der Lothringer13 Halle ist von 12. Oktober bis 26. November 2017 zu sehen. Parallel ergänzt eine Ausstellung im Amerikahaus das Fotodoks-Programm.

ME:WE

Lothringer13 Halle & Rroom

Die Verbindung zwischen dem Individuellem, dem „Ich“ und dem Kollektiven, dem „Wir“ beschreibt eine dynamische Bewegung in beide Richtungen. Ein Gleichgewicht entsteht, wenn beides genügend Raum zur Entfaltung hat. Gemeinsam mit dem Gastland USA widmet sich Fotodoks diesem Spannungsverhältnis auf persönlicher, politischer und medialer Ebene. Fotografische Positionen erzählen von persönlichen Kontakten zwischen Fotografen und dem vertrauten oder fremden Abgebildeten sowie unter Fremden. Projekte dokumentieren, dass auch Gemeinschaften, die aufgrund negativer Vorzeichen zueinander finden, hoffnungsvoll sein können. Politisches Engagement zeigt sich aus unkonventionellen Blickwinkeln, die mitunter auch Eingang in virtuelle Gemeinschaften finden. Den Darstellungsformen des Dokumentarischen sind keine Grenzen gesetzt, sie zeigen sich poetisch, künstlerisch, szenisch und die Übergänge sind fließend, in Bewegung eben.

Weitere Ausstellungen

  • Amerikahaus — 13. Oktober bis 22. Dezember

    unitedstates pt.2 – Mark Steinmetz

    In seiner Heimat Amerika ist Mark Steinmetz' Werk in sämtlichen beudetenden Sammlungen für zeitgenössische Fotografie vertreten. In Europa sind seine Arbeiten bisher fast nur Spezialisten bekannt. Mit dieser ersten umfangreichen Werkschau in Deutschland zeigt das Amerikahaus diesen feinsinnigen und liebevollen Fotografen mit einer Auswahl seiner Bilder aus über drei Jahrzehnten und gibt Einblick in alle bisher erschienenen 12 Fotobuch-Monografien.

    Mark Steinmetz fasziniert als aufmerksamer Chronist, der mit seinen Bildern in unaufdringlichen Erzählungen das gemächliche, amerikanische Alltagsleben beschreibt. Er teilt mit uns amerikanische Begegnungen, die von Neugierde, Respekt und Zurückhaltung geprägt sind und von menschlicher Verbundenheit zeugen. Das ist Grund genug, um sich in diesen Fotografien zu verlieren.