← Back to listing

Soldaten_0008-0129

A lecture by Irina Ruppert (photographer and artist)

Irina Ruppert

MaximiliansForum

May one deal with photographs of strangers in this way? Sticking dead insects on the passport photos of deceased soldiers? Irina Ruppert did this, and interestingly enough, very different questions concern the viewers: what did the eyes of the soldiers see? What was their story, before their photos landed in the attics and on the flea markets around the world?

The portraits of soldiers in Irina Ruppert’s collection present the viewers with questions about their own family-history and war experience, about the right to be reminded and about truths that one doesn’t find in archives. In her openness, she makes individual associations possible, initiates remembering and points to the constant interplay of war and peace.

Irina Ruppert

was born in Aktjubinsk/Kazakhstan and migrated to Germany with her family at the age of eight. She studied photography at the Institute of Applied Sciences in Hamburg under Ute Mahler. In her works she deals with the themes of homeland and the origin, as well as remembrance and transitoriness.

← Zurück zum Programm

Soldaten_0008-0129

Ein Vortrag von Irina Ruppert (Fotografin und Künstlerin)

Irina Ruppert

MaximiliansForum

Darf man so mit Fotografien fremder Menschen umgehen? Tote Insekten auf die Passbilder verstorbener Soldaten kleben? Irina Ruppert hat es getan, und interessanterweise sind es schnell ganz andere Fragen, die den Betrachter beschäftigen: Was mögen die Augen der Soldaten gesehen haben? Was war ihre Geschichte, bevor ihre Fotos auf die Dachböden und Flohmärkte dieser Welt gelangten?

Die Soldatenporträts aus der umfangreichen Passbildsammlung von Irina Ruppert stellen Fragen an den Betrachter – nach der eigenen Familiengeschichte und Kriegserfahrung; nach dem Recht darauf erinnert zu werden; nach Wahrheiten, die sich nicht in Archiven finden lassen. In ihrer Offenheit ermöglichen sie individuelle Assoziationen, setzen Erinnerung in Gang und verweisen auf das beständige Wechselspiel von Krieg und Frieden.

Irina Ruppert

wurde in Aktjubinsk/Kasachstan geboren und wanderte im Alter von acht Jahren mit ihrer Familie nach Deutschland aus. Sie studierte an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg Fotografie bei Ute Mahler und beschäftigt sich in ihren Arbeiten mit den Themen Heimat und Herkunft, mit Erinnerung und Vergänglichkeit.