← Back to listing

Past is Wow – About the Pleasure of Digging in Archives

A panel discussion with Klaas Dierks (academic, artist and passionate collector), Luka Knezević-Strika (Belgrade Raw), Bettina Lockemann (artist) und Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann (Head of the Photography Department/Münchner Stadtmuseum), moderated by Eva Leitolf (artist)

Klaas Dierks
Klaas Dierks
Bettina Lockemann
Bettina Lockemann
Eva Leitolf (Foto: Bartosz Galus)
Eva Leitolf (Foto: Bartosz Galus)
Luka Knezević-Strika
Luka Knezević-Strika
Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann
Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann

MaximiliansForum

Which potential is hidden in the work with analog and digital achives? Which motivation and fascination lies in the passion for collecting and the preoccupation with history? Which questions and scientific and aesthetic interests accompany the work of the archive? And how could the archive of the present look?

The participants in this podium discussion each in his/her own way, try to make the increasing flood of images tangible. Together they discuss their joy in developing new collections and structuring already existing ones.

Klaas Dierks

studied Handicapped Pedagogy and English as well as Visual Communication (Photography and Film) at the College of Fine Arts in Hamburg. Since his childhood, he has been an avid collector – with changing orientation but always with a historical reference. Klaas Dierks has taken part in several photo and film festivals and has published diverse scientific works on the pedagogy of the blind, as well as photo and film history. Since 2011, he primarily teaches film and art pedagogy at the Institute of Art, Film and Art Pedagogy at the University of Bremen.

Luka Knežević-Strika

is an artist who is centered in Belgrade, Serbia. He is the founder of the photographer collective Belgrade Raw and the AiR Program MultiMadiera on the island of Madeira, Portugal. His artistic projects also include work with the Photographic Archive of the city of Bor in Serbia, which is the location of the largest copper mine in Europe.

Bettina Lockemann

is an artist and scientist in the field of photography. After an apprenticeship in photography, she studied Photography and Media Art at the School of Visual Arts in Leipzig and received a doctorate in Art History from the State Academy of Art in Stuttgart. For five years she was professor of the Practice and Theory of Photography at the Academy of Art in Braunschweig. Her publications include among others archivalien (Magazine, 2015), Vom Rand aus (Book of Artists, 2013), Kontaktzonen (Catalogue, 2011), Das Fremde sehen (Dissertation, 2008).

Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann

has been since 1991, the head of the Photography Collection of the Munich Stadtmuseum and has been curator of numerous monographic and thematic exhibitions on photography as well as the editor and author of international publications on the cultural history of photography and contemporary photography, most recently on Hermann Landshoff (2014).

Eva Leitolf

studied Photography at the University GH Essen and Art (MA) at the California Institute of the Arts in Los Angeles. The critical confrontation with the practice of producing images and the contextualization of images is the central aspect of all her work, which investigates social phenomena such as colonialism, racism and migration. Besides numerous exhibitions, she was nominated for the Deutsche Börse Photography Prize and in 2012 received a year’s scholarship to the Villa Massimo in Rome. Her books include Postcards from Europe (2013), Deutsche Bilder – eine Spurensuche (2008), und Rostock Ritz (2004).

← Zurück zum Programm

Past is Wow – Über die Freude in Archiven zu Wühlen

Ein Podiumsgespräch mit Klaas Dierks (Wissenschaftler, Künstler und leidenschaftlicher Sammler), Luka Knezević-Strika (Belgrade Raw), Bettina Lockemann (Künstlerin) und Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann (Leiter der Fotografischen Sammlung/Münchner Stadtmuseum), moderiert von Eva Leitolf (Künstlerin)

Klaas Dierks
Klaas Dierks
Bettina Lockemann
Bettina Lockemann
Eva Leitolf (Foto: Bartosz Galus)
Eva Leitolf (Foto: Bartosz Galus)
Luka Knezević-Strika
Luka Knezević-Strika
Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann
Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann

MaximiliansForum

Welches Potential birgt die Arbeit mit analogen und digitalen Archiven? Welche Motivation und Faszination liegen der Sammlerleidenschaft und der Beschäftigung mit Geschichte zugrunde? Von welchen Fragestellungen und welchen wissenschaftlichen und ästhetischen Interessen wird die archivarischen Arbeit begleitet? Und wie könnten Archive der Gegenwart aussehen?

Die Teilnehmer dieser Podiumsdiskussion versuchen alle, jeder auf eigene Art und Weise, die wachsende Flut der Bilder greifbar zu machen. Gemeinsam sprechen sie über ihre Freude am Schaffen neuer und der Strukturierung bestehender Sammlungen.

Klaas Dierks

studierte Behindertenpädagogik und Anglistik sowie Visuelle Kommunikation (Fotografie und Film) an der Hochschule für bildende Künste, Hamburg. Seit Kindertagen ist er eifriger Sammler – mit wechselnder Ausrichtung aber immer mit historischem Bezug. Klaas Dierks nahm an zahlreichen Foto- und Film-Festivals teil und veröffentlichte diverse wissenschaftliche Publikationen zur Blindenpädagogik und der Foto- und Filmgeschichte. Seit 2011 ist er als hauptamtlich Lehrender am Institut für Kunstwissenschaften, Filmwissenschaften und Kunstpädagogik an der Universität Bremen tätig.

Luka Knežević-Strika

ist Bildender Künstler mit Lebensmittelpunkt in Belgrad, Serbien. Er ist Mitbegründer des Fotografenkollektivs Belgrade Raw und des AiR Program MultiMadiera auf der Insel Madeira, Portugal. Zu einem seiner künstlerischen Projekte gehört darüber hinaus die Auseinandersetzung mit dem fotografischen Archiv der Stadt Bor in Serbien, Standort einer der größten Kupferminen Europas.

Bettina Lockemann

ist Künstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin im Feld der Fotografie. Nach einer Lehre zur Fotografin studierte sie künstlerische Fotografie und Medienkunst an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig und promovierte im Fach Kunstgeschichte an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart. Sie war fünf Jahre lang Professorin für Praxis und Theorie der Fotografie an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig. Ihre Publikationen umfassen unter anderem archivalien (Magazin, 2015), Vom Rand aus (Künstlerbuch, 2013), Kontaktzonen (Katalog, 2011), Das Fremde sehen (Dissertation, 2008).

Dr. Ulrich Pohlmann

ist seit 1991 Leiter der Sammlung Fotografie im Münchner Stadtmuseum und Kurator zahlreicher monografischer und thematischer Ausstellungen zur Fotografie sowie Herausgeber und Autor internationaler Veröffentlichungen zur Kulturgeschichte der Fotografie und zur zeitgenössischen Fotografie, zuletzt zu Hermann Landshoff (2014).

Eva Leitolf

hat Fotografie an der Universität GH Essen und Kunst (MFA) am California Institute of the Arts, Los Angeles studiert. Die kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Praktiken der Bildproduktion und der Bildkontextualisierung ist ein zentraler Aspekt aller ihrer Arbeiten, die gesellschaftliche Phänomene wie Kolonialismus, Rassismus und Migration untersuchen. Neben zahlreichen Ausstellungen, war sie 2008 sie für den Deutsche Börse Photography Prize nominiert und erhielt 2012 in ein Jahresstipendium für die Villa Massimo in Rom. Als Bücher erschienen Postcards from Europe (2013), Deutsche Bilder – eine Spurensuche (2008), und Rostock Ritz (2004).