← Back to listing

Yugoslav Partisan Film: Mise en Scène of the Struggle

A lecture by Vedrana Madžar (photographer, film scholar and curator)

Vedrana Madžar

MaximiliansForum

Partisan film which thematizes People’s Liberation Struggle against fascist occupiers is generally identified as phenomena specific to Yugoslavia. As probably the major Yugoslav contribution to the European pop culture and definitely joint tradition of all Yugoslav republics, Partisan Film is however nowadays systematically demonized as a genuine tool of the Yugo-communist propaganda.

This lecture is going to critically examine Partisan film, respectively the filmic representation of the People’s Liberation Struggle and a variety of its features, as well as background and effects of its stigmatization in post-Yugoslav context.

Vedrana Madžar (*1982)

The filmmaker, curator and film-scholar studied Drama at the University of the Arts in Belgrade and Art in Context at the University of the Arts (UdK) in Berlin. She published texts on the Yugoslavian culture and the Partisanfilm. Among others, she was curator in 2015 and 2011 of a film series on Yugoslavia in Arsenal Cinema in Berlin and headed, together with Dr. Gal Kirn the goEast Symposium in Wiesbaden.

← Zurück zum Programm

Yugoslav Partisan Film: Mise en Scène of the Struggle

Ein Vortrag von Vedrana Madžar (Fotografin, Filmwissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin)

Vedrana Madžar

MaximiliansForum

Partisanenfilme, die den Volksbefreiungskampf gegen die faschistischen Besatzer thematisieren, werden allgemein als ein spezifisch jugoslawisches Phänomen eingeordnet. Als wohl wichtigster jugoslawischer Beitrag zur europäischen Popkultur und gemeinsame Tradition aller jugoslawischen Republiken, wird der Partisanenfilm heute jedoch als Werkzeug der jugoslawisch-kommunistischen Propaganda verteufelt.

Dieser Vortrag wird den Partisanenfilm bzw. die filmische Darstellung des Volksbefreiungskampfes und eine Vielzahl seiner Funktionen sowie Hintergründe und Auswirkungen seiner Stigmatisierung im post-jugoslawischen Kontext kritisch prüfen.

Vedrana Madžar (*1982)

Die Filmemacherin, Kuratorin und Filmwissenschaftlerin studierte Drama Arts an der Universität der Künste in Belgrad und Kunst im Kontext an der Universität der Künste (UdK) Berlin. Sie veröffentlicht Texte zur jugoslawischen Kultur und dem Partisanenfilm. Unter anderem kuratierte sie 2015 und 2011 im Kino Arsenal Berlin jugoslawische Filmreihen und leitete gemeinsam mit Dr. Gal Kirn das goEast Symposium in Wiesbaden.