← Back to listing

Komšiluk – Neighborhoods and Identities in Progress

A panel discussion with Ana Adamović (artist and curator), Jörg Gläscher (photographer), Vedrana Madžar (photographer, film scholar and curator) and Merlin Nadj-Torma (photographer), moderated by Prof. Marie-Janine Calic (professor for the History of Eastern and South-Eastern Europe at Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich)

Ana Adamović
Ana Adamović
Vedrana Madžar
Vedrana Madžar
Jörg Gläscher
Jörg Gläscher
Merlin Nadj-Torma (Foto: Frank Schinski)
Merlin Nadj-Torma (Foto: Frank Schinski)

MaximiliansForum

In the history of both ex-Yugoslavia and Germany, the confrontation with the past is inscribed – there, one country becomes seven and here, two become one again. What do such state decesions do to the people? To former neighbors, to well-known systems of reference and much loved traditions? And what does the movement of refugees in the past months and years mean to the individual and his self-perception? What is happening to the concept 'Europe' and the resulting hopes and disappointments which are a part of this? A thought.

Ana Adamovic

(*1974, Belgrade) is dealing with issues of identity and memory, both personal and collective by working on the long-term photography and video projects. She graduated at the department for the World Literature at the Belgrade University and studied photography at the Art Institute of Boston. She is a PhD in Practice candidate at the Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna. She is founder of Belgrade based Kiosk-platform for Contemporary Art.

Joerg Glaescher

(*1966, Osnabrück) finished a photography apprenticeship in Hamburg and in 1996 studied artistic photography in the class of Timm Rauert. Besides reports for German magazines he carried out his personal projects such as Zu Fuß durch Bosnien, Der Tod kommt später, vielleicht (exhibited at Fotodoks 2011) or the work on show this year: Echoland, über das Ringen um Europa.

Vedrana Madžar

(*1982) The filmmaker, curator and film-scholar studied Drama at the University of the Arts in Belgrade and Art in Context at the University of the Arts (UdK) in Berlin. She published texts on the Yugoslavian culture and the Partisanfilm. Among others, she was curator in 2015 and 2011 of a film series on Yugoslavia in Arsenal Cinema in Berlin and headed, together with Dr. Gal Kirn the goEast Symposium in Wiesbaden.

Merlin Nadj-Torma

(*1979) has worked, since her graduation in Communication Design with emphasis on photography from the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hanover, as a freelance photographer in Berlin. As the daughter of migrants who belong to the hungarian minority in Serbia, much of her work has to do with the life in the Balkans as well as themes of migration and religion. From 2011-2013 she lived in her father’s village in Serbia and, amongst others, worked on Here is everything as 22 stars:-), which is exhibited at Fotodoks. The book dummy about the project was on the shortlist of the Photobook Festival in Kassel in 2014.

← Zurück zum Programm

Komšiluk – Nachbarschaften und Identitäten im Wandel

Ein Podiumsgespräch mit Ana Adamović (Künstlerin und Kuratorin), Jörg Gläscher (Fotograf), Vedrana Madžar (Fotografin, Filmwissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin) und Merlin Nadj-Torma (Fotografin), moderiert von Prof. Marie-Janine Calic (Professorin für Geschichte Ost- und Südosteuropas an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)

Ana Adamović
Ana Adamović
Vedrana Madžar
Vedrana Madžar
Jörg Gläscher
Jörg Gläscher
Merlin Nadj-Torma (Foto: Frank Schinski)
Merlin Nadj-Torma (Foto: Frank Schinski)

MaximiliansForum

Sowohl in die Geschichte Ex-Jugoslawiens, als auch Deutschlands ist die Auseinandersetzung mit der Vergangenheit eingeschrieben – dort wurden aus einem Land sieben, hier aus zweien wieder eins. Was machen solche staatlichen Entscheidungen mit den Menschen? Mit einstigen Nachbarn, mit bekannten Bezugssystemen und lieb gewonnenen Traditionen? Und was bedeuten die Flüchtlingsbewegungen der vergangenen Monate und Jahre für die Individuen und ihr Selbstverständnis? Wie steht es um das Konzept 'Europa' und die entsprechenden Hoffnungen und Enttäuschungen, die daran geknüpft sind? Ein Denkansatz.

Ana Adamovic

(*1974, Belgrad) setzt sich in individuellen und kollektiven Projekten mit Fragen der Identität und Erinnerung auseinander und nutzt dafür die Medien Fotografie und Video. Sie studierte Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Belgrad und Fotografie am Art Institute of Boston. Momentan ist sie Doktorandin an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Sie ist Gründerin der Kiosk-Plattform für zeitgenössische Kunst in Belgrad.

Jörg Gläscher

(*1966, Osnabrück) absolvierte eine Fotografen-Lehre in Hamburg und studierte ab 1996 in der Fachklasse von Timm Rautert künstlerische Fotografie. Neben Reportagen für deutsche Magazine verfolgt er persönliche Projekte wie Zu Fuß durch Bosnien, Der Tod kommt später, vielleicht (zu sehen bei Fotodoks 2011) oder die bei Fotodoks ausgestellte Arbeit Echoland, über das Ringen um Europa.

Vedrana Madžar

(*1982) Die Filmemacherin, Kuratorin und Filmwissenschaftlerin studierte Drama Arts an der Universität der Künste in Belgrad und Kunst im Kontext an der Universität der Künste (UdK) Berlin. Sie veröffentlicht Texte zur jugoslawischen Kultur und dem Partisanenfilm. Unter anderem kuratierte sie 2015 und 2011 im Kino Arsenal Berlin jugoslawische Filmreihen und leitete gemeinsam mit Dr. Gal Kirn das goEast Symposium in Wiesbaden.

Merlin Nadj-Torma

(*1979) arbeitet seit ihrem Abschluss des Kommunikations-Design-Studiums mit Schwerpunkt Fotografie an der Fachhochschule Hannover als freie Fotografin in Berlin. Als Tochter von Migranten, die der ungarischen Minderheit in Serbien angehören, behandeln viele ihrer Arbeiten das Leben auf dem Balkan sowie Themen wie Migration und Religion. Von 2011-2013 lebte sie im Heimatort ihres Vaters in Serbien und arbeitete unter anderem an der bei Fotodoks ausgestellten Arbeit Here is everything as 22 stars :-). Der Buchdummy zum Projekt war 2014 auf der Shortlist des Fotobookfestival Kassel–Dummy Award.