← Back to listing

I am your Witness

A panel discussion about the (un-)photographable of war with the photographers Ziyah Gafić, Paul Lowe, Saša Krajl and Armin Smailović

Ziyah Gafić
Ziyah Gafić
Saša Krajl
Saša Krajl
Dr. Paul Lowe
Dr. Paul Lowe
Armin Smailović
Armin Smailović

MaximiliansForum

The photographers in this discussion are united by their photographic confrontation with the war in former Yugoslavia and their personal relationship to the region. Being born there, growing up there or having moved there later, they occupied themselves in their work with the results of the conflict, with eyewitness accounts and with reapprasial as well as the question of an appropriate documentation of what happened for the future.

Ziyah Gafić (*1980, BiH)

In his work Quest for Identity, exhibited at Fotodoks, the photojournalist Ziyah Gafić cataloged the belongings of over 30,000 Bosnian victims of the genocide: every-day objects that were taken from the mass graves. The photographer who comes from Sarajevo, was 12 years old when the war began in Bosnia. For 15 years he has photographed conflicts all over the world, also to overcome the trauma of his homeland. One question which runs through his work is 'How do people manage to keep the very fabric of a society together after a war?'

Dr. Paul Lowe

The British photojournalist Paul Lowe has followed the conflict in Bosnia photographically from the very beginning, since 1992, and still has a personal relationship to the region today. His book Bosnians, published in 2005, documents 10 years of war and the post-war situation in Bosnia. His work The Siege of Sarajevo was also published as a book 2014 and is on show during Fotodoks in the premises of IFOG Academy. Paul Lowe is head of the Master’s degree program Photojournalism and Documentary Photography at the London College of Communication.

Saša Kralj (*1965, HR)

The photojournalist Saša Kralj works for press agencies such as Corbis Images, Associated Press and Reuters and has documented the Bosnian war among others. In his video Time in the Heart of Bosnia, exhibited at Fotodoks, he searches, twenty years after the war, for a young soldier who he photographed in 1994. They are both connected by a deep experience in their lives which influences them to the present. Saša Kralj taught photojournalism at the American University of Iraq Sulaimani and is since 2011, mentor at PannaFoto Institute in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Armin Smailović (*1968, BiH/D)

Armin Smailović worked, from 1991 to 1993 during the Balkan conflict, as a war photographer in Croatia. His personal documentary projects deal with the past, present and future of the Balkan region. Armin Smailović received the first prize for his work Srebrenica – I counted my remaining life in seconds at the FotoDoks Festival 2009. In 2010 and 2013 he was a prize winner at the LEAD Awards and in 2014 was awarded the prestigious Hansel Mieth Prize.

← Zurück zum Programm

I am your Witness

Ein Podiumsgespräch über das (Un-)Fotografierbare eines Krieges mit den Fotografen Ziyah Gafić, Paul Lowe, Saša Krajl und Armin Smailović

Ziyah Gafić
Ziyah Gafić
Saša Krajl
Saša Krajl
Dr. Paul Lowe
Dr. Paul Lowe
Armin Smailović
Armin Smailović

MaximiliansForum

Die Fotografen in dieser Gesprächsrunde verbinden ihre fotografische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Krieg im ehemaligen Jugoslawien und ihr persönlicher Bezug zur Region. Dort geboren, aufgewachsen oder später hingezogen, beschäftigen sie sich in ihrer Arbeit mit den Folgen des Konfliktes, mit Augenzeugenschaft und Aufarbeitung sowie der Frage nach einer angemessenen Dokumentation des Geschehenen für die Zukunft.

Ziyah Gafić (*1980, BiH)

In seiner bei Fotodoks ausgestellten Arbeit Quest for Identity katalogisiert der Fotojournalist Ziyah Gafić die Habseligkeiten der über 30.000 bosnischen Opfer des Völkermordes: Alltagsobjekte, die aus den Massengräbern geborgen wurden. Der aus Sarajevo stammende Fotograf war 12 Jahre alt als der Krieg in Bosnien begann. Er fotografiert seit 15 Jahren Konflikte auf der ganzen Welt, um unter anderem das Trauma seines Heimatlandes zu bewältigen. Eine Frage, die sich durch sein Werk zieht, lautet: 'Wie schaffen es Menschen nach einem Krieg, das Gefüge einer Gesellschaft zusammenzuhalten?'

Dr. Paul Lowe

Der britische Fotojournalist Paul Lowe hat den Konflikt in Bosnien von Anfang an, seit 1992, fotografisch begleitet und seine persönliche Beziehung zur Region hält bis heute an. Sein 2005 veröffentlichtes Buch Bosnians dokumentiert zehn Jahre Krieg und Nachkriegssituation in Bosnien. Seine Arbeit The Siege of Sarajevo wurde 2014 ebenfalls als Buch veröffentlicht und ist während Fotodoks in den Räumen der IFOG zu sehen. Paul Lowe leitet den Masterstudiengang Fotojournalismus und Dokumentarfotografie am London College of Communication.

Saša Kralj (*1965, HR)

Der Fotojournalist Saša Kralj ist für Presseagenturen wie Corbis Images, Associated Press und Reuters tätig und hat unter anderem den Bosnienkrieg fotografisch dokumentiert. In seinem bei Fotodoks präsentierten Video Zeit im Herzen Bosniens macht er sich 20 Jahre nach diesem Krieg auf die Suche nach einem jungen Soldaten, den er 1994 fotografierte. Beide verbindet ein tiefer Einschnitt in ihrem Leben, der sie bis in die Gegenwart prägt. Saša Kralj unterrichtete unter anderem Fotojournalismus an der American University of Iraq Sulaimani und ist seit 2011 Mentor am PannaFoto Institute in Jakarta, Indonesien.

Armin Smailović (*1968, BiH/D)

Armin Smailović arbeitete von 1991 bis 1993 während des Balkankonflikts als Kriegsfotograf in Kroatien. In seinen persönlichen dokumentarischen Arbeiten setzt er sich mit der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Balkanregion auseinander. Armin Smailović erhielt mit seiner Arbeit Srebrenica – I counted my remaining life in seconds den ersten Preis des Fotodoks-Festivals 2009. 2010 und 2013 war er Preisträger der LEAD Awards und wurde 2014 mit dem renommierten Hansel-Mieth-Preis ausgezeichnet.