← Back to listing

Radfahrer / Cyclist

Screening of the short film Radfahrer / Cyclist (2009, Director: Marc Thümmler, 27 Min.) and conversation with the two Ostkreuz photographers Harald Hauswald and Maurice Weiss

Harald Hauswald
Maurice Weiss

MaximiliansForum

The photographer Harald Hauswald from Berlin, an outstanding documentarist and unconventional citizen of the SED state, was known under the alias 'Radfahrer (Cyclist)' and was observed by the Stasi from 1983 until the fall of the Wall. In the short film by Marc Thümmler, black and white photos by the photographer of the East Berlin of the 80s are combined with spoken excerpts from his Stasi files. Scenes, which the public should not see, because they didn’t fit the self-image of the DDR leadership: punks, drinkers, crumbling facades.

After the film, the two photographers from the agency Ostkreuz Harald Hauswald and Maurice Weiss will discuss this formative time, 25 years after the German reunification.

Harald Hauswald

(*1954 in Radebeul) moved in 1977, after his training as a photographer, to East Berlin where he worked in various jobs and after 1983 as photographer for the protestant Stephanus-Stiftung. He was among the most exciting chronists of the seventies and eighties. His images of the daily life there were all made on his own initiative or after 1986, also for the media in the West. Harald Hauswald is a founding member of the Ostkreuz Agency and received the 'Bundesverdiestkreuz' (Federal Cross of Merit). In 2006 he was awarded the 'Unity Prize –
Citizens Award for German Unity'.

Maurice Weiss

(*1964 in Perpignan) photographed on November 9, 1989 the symbolic scenes that took place on both sides of the Wall. Dynamically and with a sharp eye he captured one of the most important events in European history on his 35 mm film. The social upheaval that followed the fall of the Wall, didn’t allow Maurice Weiss to rest and so he followed meticulously the political developments in Berlin up to the reunification and beyond. Since then, he is closely connected to the capital and its politics and today is a regular photographer in the Bundestag.

← Zurück zum Programm

Radfahrer

Screening des Kurzfilms Radfahrer (2009, Regie: Marc Thümmler, 27 Min.) und anschließendes Gespräch mit den beiden Ostkreuz-Fotografen Harald Hauswald und Maurice Weiss

Harald Hauswald
Maurice Weiss

MaximiliansForum

Der Berliner Fotograf Harald Hauswald, herausragender Dokumentarist und unangepasster Bürger des SED-Staates, wurde unter dem Decknamen 'Radfahrer' von 1983 bis zum Fall der Mauer von der Stasi überwacht. In dem Kurzfilm von Marc Thümmler werden Schwarz-Weiß-Bilder des Fotografen aus dem Ost-Berlin der 1980er Jahre mit eingesprochenen Textauszügen aus dessen Stasi-Akte unterlegt. Szenen, die keine Öffentlichkeit bekommen sollten, weil sie nicht dem Selbstverständnis der DDR-Führung entsprachen: Punks, Trinker, bröckelnde Fassaden.

Im Anschluss an den Film unterhalten sich die beiden Ostkreuz-Fotografen Harald Hauswald und Maurice Weiss 25 Jahre nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung über diese prägende Zeit.

Harald Hauswald

(*1954 in Radebeul) zog nach seiner Ausbildung zum Fotografen 1977 nach (Ost-)Berlin, wo er in verschiedenen Jobs und ab 1983 als Fotograf für die evangelische Stephanus-Stiftung arbeitete. Er gehört zu den aufregendsten Chronisten der DDR in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren. Seine Aufnahmen des dortigen Alltags entstanden alle im Eigenauftrag bzw. ab 1986 auch für westliche Medien. Harald Hauswald ist Gründungsmitglied der Agentur Ostkreuz und erhielt 1997 das Bundesverdienstkreuz. 2006 wurde ihm der 'Einheitspreis – Bürgerpreis zur Deutschen Einheit' verliehen.

Maurice Weiss

(*1964 in Perpignan) fotografierte am 9. November 1989 dynamisch und mit scharfem Auge die symbolträchtigen Szenen, die sich auf beiden Seiten der Mauer abspielten und bannte somit eines der wichtigsten Ereignisse europäischer Geschichte auf seinen Kleinbildfilm. Die gesellschaftlichen Umbrüche die dem Mauerfall folgten, ließen Maurice Weiss nicht zur Ruhe kommen und so verfolgte er minutiös die politischen Entwicklungen in Berlin bis zur Wiedervereinigung und darüber hinaus. Seitdem ist er mit der Hauptstadt und seiner Politik verbunden und geht heute im Bundestag als Fotograf ein und aus.