The Festival

Fotodoks is an international and ambitious festival that reflects and discusses contemporary documentary photography in a lively and personal atmosphere. Made by photographers for photographers, Fotodoks as an independent festival focuses on the documentary and social-critical power of photography and, irrespective of the regulations of the print media and the art business, asks openly about the motivation of photographers, their production conditions and the interests of clients and consumers. Focusing on a different theme and partner region for each edition, Fotodoks perceives itself as an independent forum, which takes place in Munich every second year and has established itself since 2008 as the largest festival for documentary photography in the German-speaking world.

  • At a glance

  • Fotodoks is taking a bow infront of our guest Anders Petersen at the festival 2010.
    Fotodoks is taking a bow infront of our guest Anders Petersen at the festival 2010.
  • At the festival in 2011 three Magnum-Workshops with the photographers Christopher Anderson, Thomas Dworzak and Moises Saman took place. (Photo: Stefan Becker)
    At the festival in 2011 three Magnum-Workshops with the photographers Christopher Anderson, Thomas Dworzak and Moises Saman took place. (Photo: Stefan Becker)
  • 2008

    Fotodoks happens for the first time

  • In 2011 we had our own Fotodoks beer!
    In 2011 we had our own Fotodoks beer!
  • Special guest Jacob Holdt held a legendary talk of several hours at our festival in 2012. (Photo: Robert Pupeter)
    Special guest Jacob Holdt held a legendary talk of several hours at our festival in 2012. (Photo: Robert Pupeter)
  • For the second time Fotodoks presented an outdoor exhibition at Marienhof in Munich in 2015. (Photo: Robert Pupeter)
    For the second time Fotodoks presented an outdoor exhibition at Marienhof in Munich in 2015. (Photo: Robert Pupeter)
  • Over 900 visitors at our first exhibition opening at Münchner Stadtmuseum in 2011! (Photo: Matthias Oertel)
    Over 900 visitors at our first exhibition opening at Münchner Stadtmuseum in 2011! (Photo: Matthias Oertel)
  • Christoph Amend presents the ZEITmagazine-Photo-Prize. (Photo: Katrin Petroschkat)
    Christoph Amend presents the ZEITmagazine-Photo-Prize. (Photo: Katrin Petroschkat)
  • Meet the Fotodoks team

Exchange, Discourse and Inspiration

With a group exhibition and a comprehensive festival programme of lectures, panel discussions, workshops and screenings, Fotodoks provides the opportunity for professional photographers as well as the interested audience to explore new works, experience 'old masters', meet like-minded people, network, come into contact with different points of view and be inspired.

In a central group exhibition at the Lothringer13 Hall photographic works from the respective partner region and the German-speaking countries are shown. The exhibiting photographers are invited to be on location during the period of the festival, set up the exhibition together and get involved in the festival through lectures, workshops, talks or panel discussions. The exhibition is on display beyond the festival week. Regular guided tours are available, including as part of the Long Night of Museums Munich.

Prizes and Awards

During the Fotodoks Festival an international jury is awarding one of the works shown in the central group exhibition with the Fotodoks-Prize; since 2012 it has been awarded in cooperation with ZEITmagazin. The ZEITmagazin-Photo-Prize is endowed with 5.000 € and offers the opportunity to develop and realise a photographic reportage together with the editorial office of ZEITmagazin. In 2012 the award went to the British photographer Edmund Clark, in 2013 to Linn Schröder and in 2015 to photographer Merlin Nadj-Torma. Additionally in 2015 the first Tirol-Audience-Award was offered and went to Tanja Kernweiss.

The Fotodoks Catalogue

For our festival catalogue we like to experiment and find new ways of translating the exhibition into a printed medium. Inspired by the respective partner region and the festival theme we are developing and producing it in collaboration with our designer. The catalogue contains additional texts and thoughts by various authors and the exhibiting photographers. For visitors of the exhibition the catalogue is free of charge.

Think Tank Between the Years

Since 2014 Fotodoks has been a biannual event. In the year between festivals the Fotodoks team focuses on research and invites a group of international experts, photographers and artists to a Fotodoks Think Tank in Munich to network, discuss and research the upcoming partner region and develop a festival theme. In an intense weekend we discuss the state of photography as a medium of documentation and communication in the upcoming partner region.

Das Festival

Fotodoks ist ein internationales und anspruchsvolles Festival, bei dem in lebendiger und persönlicher Atmosphäre über aktuelle Dokumentarfotografie reflektiert und diskutiert wird.

Gemacht von FotografInnen für FotografInnen stellt Fotodoks als unabhängiges Festival die dokumentarische und sozialkritische Kraft der Fotografie in den Vordergrund und fragt – ungebunden an Reglements der Printmedien und des Kunstbetriebs – offen nach Beweggründen der FotografInnen, den Produktionsbedingungen und den Interessen von AuftraggeberInnen und KonsumentInnen.

Den Blick auf ein jeweils anderes Partnerland und Festivalthema gerichtet, versteht sich Fotodoks als Forum, das biennal in München stattfindet und das sich seit 2008 als größtes Festival für Dokumentarfotografie im deutschsprachigen Raum etabliert hat.

  • Auf einen Blick

  • Fotodoks verbeugt sich vor unserem Gast Anders Petersen beim Festival 2010.
    Fotodoks verbeugt sich vor unserem Gast Anders Petersen beim Festival 2010.
  • Beim Festival 2011 fanden drei Magnum-Workshops mit den Fotografen Christopher Anderson, Thomas Dworzak und Moises Saman statt. (Foto: Stefan Becker)
    Beim Festival 2011 fanden drei Magnum-Workshops mit den Fotografen Christopher Anderson, Thomas Dworzak und Moises Saman statt. (Foto: Stefan Becker)
  • 2008

    fand Fotodoks zum ersten Mal statt

  • 2011 gab's Fotodoks-Bier!
    2011 gab's Fotodoks-Bier!
  • Special Guest Jacob Holdt hielt beim Festival 2012 einen legendären, mehrstündigen Vortrag. (Foto: Robert Pupeter)
    Special Guest Jacob Holdt hielt beim Festival 2012 einen legendären, mehrstündigen Vortrag. (Foto: Robert Pupeter)
  • 2015 zeigt Fotodoks bereits zum zweiten Mal eine Partner-Ausstellung auf dem Münchner Marienhof. (Foto: Robert Pupeter)
    2015 zeigt Fotodoks bereits zum zweiten Mal eine Partner-Ausstellung auf dem Münchner Marienhof. (Foto: Robert Pupeter)
  • Über 900 Besucher bei unserer ersten Ausstellungseröffnung im Münchner Stadtmuseum 2011! (Foto: Matthias Oertel)
    Über 900 Besucher bei unserer ersten Ausstellungseröffnung im Münchner Stadtmuseum 2011! (Foto: Matthias Oertel)
  • Christoph Amend präsentiert den ZEITmagazin-Foto-Preis. (Foto: Katrin Petroschkat)
    Christoph Amend präsentiert den ZEITmagazin-Foto-Preis. (Foto: Katrin Petroschkat)
  • Lernt das Fotodoks-Team kennen

Austausch, Diskurs und Inspiration

Mit einer Gruppenausstellung und einem umfangreichen Rahmenprogramm aus Vorträgen, Podiumsdiskussionen, Workshops und Screenings bietet Fotodoks professionellen Foto-Arbeitenden sowie dem interessierten Publikum die Möglichkeit Gleichgesinnte zu treffen, neue Ansichten kennenzulernen, sich zu vernetzen und inspirieren zu lassen.

In einer zentralen Gruppenausstellung in der Lothringer13 Halle, einem städtischen Kunstraum werden fotografische Arbeiten aus der jeweiligen Gastregion und dem deutschsprachigen Raum zum Festivalthema gezeigt. Die ausstellenden FotografInnen sind eingeladen für die Zeit des Festivals vor Ort zu sein, den Aufbau ihrer Ausstellung gemeinsam zu gestalten und sich in Form von Vorträgen, Werkstattgesprächen und Podiumsdiskussionen am Festival zu beteiligen. Die Ausstellung ist über die Festivalzeit hinaus zu sehen und wird durch regelmäßige Führungen, unter anderem während der Langen Nacht der Münchner Museen begleitet.

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Eine internationale Fachjury prämiert während dem Fotodoks Festival eine der in der zentralen Gruppenausstellung vertretenen Arbeiten mit dem Fotodoks-Preis – seit 2012 in Kooperation mit dem ZEITmagazin. Der ZEITmagazin-Fotopreis ist mit 5.000 € dotiert und ermöglicht die Umsetzung einer gemeinsam mit der Redaktion des ZEITmagazins entwickelten Fotoreportage. 2012 ging der Preis an den britischen Fotografen Edmund Clark, 2013 an Linn Schröder und 2015 an die Fotografin Merlin Nadj-Torma. 2015 gab es darüber hinaus erstmals den Tirol-Publikumspreis, der an Tanja Kernweiss verliehen wurde.

Die Fotodoks-Kataloge

Für unseren Fotodoks-Katalog suchen wir Festival für Festival nach neuen Wegen der Konzeption und Vermittlung. Inspiriert vom jeweiligen Thema und der Partnerregion gestalten wir gemeinsam mit unseren DesignerInnen eine individuelle Publikation, die ergänzende Texte und Gedanken von verschiedenen AutorInnen und den ausstellenden FotografInnen zusammen bringt. Für AusstellungsbesucherInnen ist der Katalog kostenlos erhältlich.

Think Tank zwischen den Jahren

Seit 2014 findet Fotodoks als Biennale statt. Damit es im Jahr zwischen zwei Festivals nicht langweilig wird, lädt das Fotodoks-Team eine Gruppe internationaler ExpertInnen, FotografInnen und KünstlerInnen zu einem Think Tank nach München ein, um die intellektuellen Fühler für das folgende Festival auszustrecken und ein entsprechendes Festivalthema zu erarbeiten. An einem intensiven Wochenende wird über die Rolle der Fotografie als Medium der Dokumentation und Kommunikation in der kommenden Partnerregion diskutiert.